Minutes of Board of Studies Meeting Information and Communication Technology School of Technology (SoT), Pandit Deendayal Energy University Gandhinagar, Gujarat-382007

Date: 22 March, 2021 Time: 2.30 PM Venue: Online Mode (MS Teams)

A. Members of Board of Studies:			
Name of BoS	Name of Organization and	Present / Absent	Remarks
Member	Designation		
Dr. Ganga Prasad	Assistant Prof., PDEU, Gandhinagar	Present	Chairman,
Pandey			BOS
Prof. Mehul S. Raval	Prof. AU, Ahmedabad	Present	External
			Member
Shri Debajyoti Dhar	Group Director, in Signal & Image	Present	External
	Processing Group at SAC/ISRO.		Member
Prof. Biswajit Mishra	Professor, DA-IICT	Present	External
			Member
Shri Amit A. Nanavati	Senior Technical Lead, Cognitive	Present	External
	Automation Solutions New Delhi,		Member
	IBM Adjunct Professor, IIT Delhi.		
Shri Nilesh Ranpura	Project Manager, einfochips,	Present	External
	Ahmedabad		Member
Mr. Mahesh Sutaria,	Co-Founder, Energy Cloud	Present	External
	technology Pvt Ltd, Ahmedabad		Member
Dr. Jigarkumar H.	Assistant Prof., PDEU, Gandhinagar	Present	Member,
Shah			BOS
Dr. Paawan Sharma	Assistant Prof., PDEU, Gandhinagar	Present	Member,
			BOS
Dr. Raju Ranjan	Assistant Prof., PDEU, Gandhinagar	Present	Member,
			BOS
Dr. Mohendra Roy	Assistant Prof., PDEU, Gandhinagar	Present	Invited
			member
Dr. Hardik Patel	Assistant Prof., PDEU, Gandhinagar	Present	Invited
			member
Dr. Purvi Koringa	Assistant Prof., PDEU, Gandhinagar	Present	Invited
5			member

A. Members of Board of Studies:

B. Agenda of Meeting:

- 1. Approval of PSO, PEOs, and course structure B. Tech. ECE
- 2. Detailed syllabus of B. Tech. ECE Semester-III courses.
- 3. Review of Course Outcomes (CO) of courses in B. Tech. ICT program.
- 4. Review of list of experiments for lab courses in B. Tech. ICT program.
- 5. Detailed Syllabus of PhD course work of following courses-
 - a) Microwave and Electromagnetics

b) Advanced Antenna Theory

- 6. Discussion on M. Tech. ICT program and structure.
- 7. Discussion on admission of candidates from industry for PhD program
- 8. Any other point with permission from Chairman BOS

C. Minutes of BoS Meeting:

1. Approval of PSO, PEOs, and course structure B. Tech. ECE

Discussion: (a) To include some keywords related to IT in the 2nd point of PSO of ECE **Resolution:**

The second PSO is to be modified. The course structure found suitable as per requirements for Curriculum of ECE.

2. Approval of detailed syllabus of B. Tech. ECE Semester-III courses.

(a) Biswajit Mishra has suggested to include more practical in the 3rdsem of ECE curriculum. **Resolution:** Instead of proposed two lab courses following three lab courses are to be incorporate d in proposed curriculum—

- i. Analog Electronics-1 Lab (0-0-2)
- ii. Digital Logic Design Lab(0-0-2)
- iii. Simulation and Design Tools Lab(0-0-2)

Accordingly the list of experiments of above subjects at serial no ii is to be revised and at sr. iii is to be developed afresh.

(b) Nilesh Ranpura has suggested to motivate the students to accustom with the simulation in practical courses.

Resolution: The additional lab course entitled Simulation and Design Tools Lab is included in curriculum.

(c) Mehul S Raval has suggested to make the content of lab and theory part cohesive.

Resolution: the internal BOS members had discussed the detailed curriculum of all courses and the issue was resolved.

(d) Mehul S Raval has raise issue of using Machine Learning Application term instead of only Machine Learning in the title of the course of Machine Learning and Applications.

Resolution: To make it distinguishable from the ICT course.

(e) Both Debajyoti Dhar and Mehul S Raval have suggested incorporating more components of probability and statistics in the Math 3 subject.

Resolution: The members of the BOS were informed of the MATH-III content to which all agreed.

(f) Nilesh Ranpura suggested incorporating FinFET contents in the Digital CMOS subject. **Resolution:** The suggestion will be taken in to consideration while framing of 7th sem subject detailed syllabus.

3. Review of list of experiments for lab courses in B. Tech. ICT program.

The panel find the contents of all the lab courses OK.

4. Review of Course Outcomes (CO) of courses in B. Tech. ICT program.

The panel find the contents of all the courses OK.

5. Detailed Syllabus of PhD course work of following courses--

- a) Microwave and Electromagnetics
- b) Advanced Antenna Theory

The panel approved the above mentioned course and syllabus.

6. Discussion on M. Tech. ICT program and structure.

- (a) Mehul S Raval has suggested to find the possibility of offering the M. Tech program in online mode along with offine mode to attract the working professional and timing of courses may be adjusted to accommodate the candidates.
- (b) Debajyoti Dhar suggested to incorporate GPU programing and content in the M. Tech program. Also he suggested to include AI in big data analytics.
- (c) Devajyoti Dhar has suggested to include mini project in the 2ndsem and make 3rdsem for Major project and 4thsem for only Dissertation.
- (d) Mehul S Raval has suggested to look the possibility to include only M. Tech in AI by broadening its horizon for the topics like liberal science, cognitive science, etc.
- (e) Mr. Mahesh Sutaria has bring his concern about the acceptancy of M. Tech title by Govt. agencies for their recruitments.

7. Discussion on admission of candidates without PG Degree from industry for PhD program at ICT Department.

Mehul S Raval and Prof. DebajyotiDhar suggested allowing the industry people (without PG Degree) with the provision of taking additional course work (of 2 semester).

8. Any other point with permission from Chairman BOS

The above points were covering the all the agenda points and there were no other point proposed by any member.

The meeting was concluded by briefing the discussion by the chairman Dr. Ganga Prasad Pandey at 5.24 PM.

Finally meeting was over with the Vote of Thanks by Dr. Jigarkumar Shah.

(Dr. Ganga Prasad Pandey) (Prof. Mehul S. Ravval) (Shri Debajyoti Dhar) (Biswajit Mishra)

(Shri Amit A. Nanavati) (Shri Nilesh Ranpura) (Mr. Mahesh Sutaria) (Dr. Jigarkumar H. Shah)

(Dr. Paawan Sharma)

(Dr. Raju Ranjan)

(Dr. Mohendra Roy)

(Dr. Hardik Patel)

(Dr. Purvi Koringa)